LisaList2

Advanced search  

News:

2019.06.07 fixed NChat for the "Curve" theme, will eventually move it to its own page and add it to the default theme as well. Other plugins are next. see post in the Meta board for details

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5  (Read 58 times)

AlexTheCat123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« on: July 25, 2021, 10:59:54 am »

I was lucky enough to stumble upon a Widget drive at an e-waste recycler around a week ago (unfortunately, the rest of the Lisa was nowhere to be found) and I'm going to try to repair it in the coming weeks once my schedule gets a little less busy. Unfortunately, I only have a Lisa 2/5, so I'm unsure about whether the Widget would actually work with my Lisa. Since it uses the same interface as the ProFile, I would assume that I could just connect it to the external parallel port with the appropriate cable, right? Has anyone actually tried this before?
Logged

rayarachelian

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 563
  • "But what's puzzling you is the nature of my game"
    • LisaEm
Re: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2021, 12:39:06 pm »

Congrats. Yes it will work with a Lisa 2/5, but you'll need to rig up external power and a DB25 to ribbon cable.

I'm not sure, but you might need +12V and -12V as well as +5V and GND. I think the drive cage uses a 24V fan, but not sure if the -12V is used by the drive or just the fan. Obviously you can use whatever fan you like in your own enclosure. I think the fan hooks up to the drive with a 2 (or maybe 3?) pin plug, but obviously not needed for your own enclosure + fans.

If you have an old full height SCSI drive enclosure it might work, but yeah, the power supply might be an issue.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2021, 12:42:46 pm by rayarachelian »
Logged
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say. - GRRM

AlexTheCat123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2021, 02:29:02 pm »

Great! It should be really easy to make the appropriate DB25 to ribbon cable and I can use an ATX power supply for testing just like I did with my ProFile.
Logged

rayarachelian

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 563
  • "But what's puzzling you is the nature of my game"
    • LisaEm
Re: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2021, 04:38:31 pm »

Sure, an ATX PC power supply should work, though you may need to force it to power on by shorting the right pins. see: https://www.smpspowersupply.com/connectors-pinouts.html
Logged
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say. - GRRM

AlexTheCat123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2021, 04:56:44 pm »

Yep, I've got an ATX power supply that has a wire permanently soldered between those pins that I use for testing stuff.
Logged

compu_85

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
Re: Using a Widget Drive in a Lisa 2/5
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2021, 08:07:43 pm »

From the fiddling I've done with this, the Office System gets grumpy when there's a widget on the first parallel port of a 2/5.

Perhaps you'll have better luck! You can convert the pin header on the controller to a DB25 with the parallel port cable from an old PC.

-J
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up