LisaList2

Advanced search  

News:

2019.06.07 fixed NChat for the "Curve" theme, will eventually move it to its own page and add it to the default theme as well. Other plugins are next. see post in the Meta board for details

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus  (Read 144 times)

D.Finni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« on: March 19, 2021, 07:54:01 pm »

I see that MacWorks Plus installs a ROM image which identifies itself using the same version word as the Mac Plus ROM: $0075

I have code that checks the low byte of this word and if the high-bit is set, the code branches for Lisa/MacWorks. This code does not detect MacWorks Plus.

What should I do to detect the presence of MacWorks Plus?
Logged

jamesdenton

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Karma: +24/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • ArcaneByte
    • ArcaneByte
Re: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 10:55:00 pm »

Not sure if you've read this, but perhaps there's something useful here?

https://lisa.sunder.net/MacWorks_Plus_Technical_Overview_by_Chuck_Lukaszewski3.pdf
Logged

rayarachelian

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +25/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
  • "But what's puzzling you is the nature of my game"
    • LisaEm
Re: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2021, 12:07:32 am »

If you can ask the OS for the size of the display that might do it. You should see 720x384 or 608x431 for the Lisa.
I don't believe any (non-XL) Mac used these sizes for video.
Logged
Fate whispers to the warrior, 'You can not withstand the storm.'  The warrior whispers back, 'I am the storm.'

D.Finni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
Re: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2021, 02:01:48 pm »

Not sure if you've read this, but perhaps there's something useful here?
Have read that; didn't see anything useful.

If you can ask the OS for the size of the display that might do it. You should see 720x384 or 608x431 for the Lisa.
I don't believe any (non-XL) Mac used these sizes for video.
Certainly that's one way to do it. If I can't find an Apple-sanctioned way to check for MacWorks Plus, then I'll do something like that.
Logged

sigma7

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +31/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
  • Warning: Memory errors found. Verify comments.
Re: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2021, 02:17:18 am »

I see that MacWorks Plus installs a ROM image which identifies itself using the same version word as the Mac Plus ROM: $0075

I have code that checks the low byte of this word and if the high-bit is set, the code branches for Lisa/MacWorks. This code does not detect MacWorks Plus.

What should I do to detect the presence of MacWorks Plus?

MacWorks Plus / MacWorks Plus II typically masquerade as a Mac Plus because there was some software that would refuse to run on an X/Lisa on the assumption that MacWorks could not run it properly (which was true of MacWorks XL, but no longer true with MacWorks Plus ... more or less the reason for MacWorks Plus).

For its own purposes, MacWorks Plus code variants (eg. installers, desk accessories) check the long word at $400040 to find:

MW+ : 'MACW'
MW+2: 'MW+2'

There are also MW+/II version locations which contain p-strings:

MW+: $400088
MW+2: $400080

Since the version string isn't entirely predictable or reliable due to patches, it would be best to avoid making general decisions based on the version string.

As usual, you may choose to trust, but verify. HTH.
Logged
Warning: Memory errors found. ECC non-functional. Verify comments if accuracy is important to you.

D.Finni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 95
Re: Programmatically detect MacWorks Plus
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2021, 08:19:29 pm »

Thanks, I'll try that.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up