LisaList2

Advanced search  

News:

2022.06.03 added links to LisaList1 and LisaFAQ to the General Category

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 110V / 230V Conversion  (Read 1884 times)

fri0701

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +57/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
110V / 230V Conversion
« on: December 07, 2023, 09:28:34 pm »

Hi everyone,
If I swap a standard 110V 1.2A into an international model that currently has a 230V PSU, that's the only conversion necessary, right? There shouldn't be any other modifications needed to safely run the machine on 110V, as far as I know.

What about a 230V ProFile drive, though? If I have a 230V ProFile and want to run it on 110V, can I just swap the internal Seagate drive into a different ProFile case that has a 110V PSU, or are more modifications needed?

Thanks! Just want to be sure about this.
Logged

ried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: 110V / 230V Conversion
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2023, 11:52:54 pm »

The ProFile is easy. I have a 230v ProFile that I converted to 115v by opening its PSU and moving one cable from the 230v lead to the 115v lead on the board. Closed it up, plugged it in, works great. No further changes required.

I'm 99% sure a Lisa PSU can be similarly modified, but cannot personally confirm.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2024, 12:03:03 am by ried »
Logged

stepleton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +109/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 384
Re: 110V / 230V Conversion
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2023, 01:44:15 pm »

I think fri0701 is asking about swapping the entire power supply (basically), not modifying a PSU.

Yes, it's fine to do both of the things you (fri0701) suggest. Everything downstream of the power supply (in the Lisa and in the ProFile) runs on the standard, fixed DC voltages that the power supplies make.
Logged

fri0701

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +57/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: 110V / 230V Conversion
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2023, 01:58:34 pm »

These are both helpful - thank you!

For the Lisa, just swap the PSU to a 110V version. For the ProFile, move the jumper from 230V to 110V. Sounds good.
Logged

ried

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: 110V / 230V Conversion
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2023, 11:59:32 pm »

I was recapping a ProFile PSU today and took a picture of said jumper while I was in there. North American ProFile drives are labeled 115 volts and the board has leads for both 115 and 230 volts, below. 115v lead is currently in use, as you can see.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2024, 12:03:52 am by ried »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up